Skip to content

Ashtanga Yoga

connects the body and mind

An ancient system to build internal and external strength.

Ashtanga yoga is an ancient practice designed to heal the body and to bring balance and stability into ones life. Its a dynamic practice where breath and movement are synchronised to strengthen the body and mind connection. Students practice a set sequence of postures, while the teacher offers one-on-one guidance and adjustments to each student. Practicing in this way is called ‘Mysore style’ and allows to modify the postures and provide specific feedback to each student. This way each student progresses safely at their own pace.

It is said that where there is no effort there is no benefit. Strength, stamina and sweat are unique aspects of this practice. Ashtanga yoga is a powerful practice which builds internal and external strength, increases one’s willpower and discipline. The dynamic nature of the practice also helps to circulate vital energy throughout the body which strengthens and purifies the nervous system. The mind then becomes calm, clear and can focus with great ease.

Primary – Intermediate – Advanced

The Ashtanga yoga method involves synchronised movement with deep breathing and consists of a progressive series of postures (asanas).

Its a dynamic practice which will release toxins, improve circulation and create calmness of the mind.

This ancient system originates from India and was brought to the west by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. It consists of three sequences or serie. The “Primary Series” (Yoga Chikitsa) detoxifies and aligns the entire body. The “Intermediate Series” (Nadi Shodana) purifies the nervous system by means of opening and releasing the energy channels. The Advanced Series A, B, C, and D (Shtira Baga) integrate the strength and grace of the practice, requiring higher physical levels of flexibility and strength.

Drishti & bandhas

Drishti is a soft focused gaze. Each posture has a particular drishti which increases concentration (dharana) and helps to withdrawal our senses (prtyahara) from outside distraction. It enhances the physical practice by directing the energy in a focused way, controls the wandering mind and directs it inwards.

Bandhas are energetic locks within the body which help to regulate the flow of prana – life energy. The most important bandhas in Ashtanga Yoga are Mula Bandha, Uddiyana Bandha and Jalandhara Bandha.

Learning to engage the bandhas takes time and practice.


Vinyasa means breath synchronised movement. Each move connects with an inhale or exhale directing the internal energy in the most beneficial way.

Vinyasa’s form the link in between asanas and combined with the correct breathing the practice becomes a dynamic flow of postures.

Practising the sequences in the correct order with the help of vinyasa’s will unlock the healing and transformative power of Ashtanga.

Inhalation & exhalation

Breathing cannot be overemphasised in the Ashtanga Yoga system.

The breath is continuously and deep during the whole practice and ensures efficient circulation of blood. The sound of the breath keeps the mind focused and is a useful indication of the quality of the practice.

When breath feeds into action, and action improves posture, each movement becomes gentle and one will acquire steadiness of the body and mind.

Ashtanga – a system of 8 limbs

Ashtanga literally means eight limbs which are described by the Sage Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras.

Yama (moral codes)
Niyama (self purification with discipline)
Asana (postures)
Pranayama (breath control)
Pratyahara (Sense withdrawal)
Dharana (concentration)
Dhyana (meditation)
Samadi (superconsiousness)

These branches support and reinforce each other. Asana practice must be established for proper practice of Pranayama. Yama and Niyama are integral part of the method and eventually flow into all areas of life. Once the first four limbs are firmly rooted, the last four, which are internally oriented limbs, can evolve.